Phase 1 submissions closed on April 28, and the Neuromod Prize received 45 concept papers from independent teams, small companies, universities, and medical centers. Teams proposed neuromodulation therapies with a wide range of target organ functions — including in the bladder, heart, lungs, and stomach.

The Phase 1 evaluation process will begin with review panelists evaluating solutions based on the Phase 1 selection criteria. Following this review, the judging panel will select up to eight teams to receive a share of the Phase 1 prize pool (up to $800,000). Phase 1 winners will be announced this summer.

Thank you to our review panel for contributing their knowledge and time:

  • Andrei Pakhomov, Ph.D. Research Professor, Old Dominion University
  • Andrew Cornwell, Ph.D. Associate Director of the Case-Coulter Translational Research Partnership, Case Western Reserve University
  • Antonino Cassara, Ph.D. Neurostimulation Project Leader, IT’IS Foundation
  • Cindy Chestek, Ph.D. Associate Chair for Research in Biomedical Engineering, University of Michigan
  • Daryl Kipke, Ph.D. CEO and Managing Director, NeuroNexus
  • David Linden, Ph.D. Professor of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University
  • Douglas Weber, Ph.D. Professor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Erika Ross, Ph.D. Director of R&D Applied Research, Abbott Neuromodulation
  • Graham Creasey, FRCSEd, Emeritus Faculty, Stanford University
  • Heike Muenzberg-Gruening, Ph.D. Professor, Louisiana State University
  • James Fallon, Ph.D. CTO and Head of Research Operations, Bionics Institute
  • Jeffrey Ardell, Ph.D. Professor-in-Residence, University of California, Los Angeles 
  • Jessy Dorn, Ph.D. Vice President of Clinical and Scientific Affairs, Second Sight
  • Jeyakumar Subbaroyan, Ph.D. Vice President of Clinical Affairs & Research, Nyxaoh
  • Kent Leyde, CEO, Cadence Neuroscience
  • Jimmy Harris, Ph.D. Director of Science and Technology, Presidio Medical
  • Kristen-Smith Edwards, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Pittsburgh
  • Laurent Gautron, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Natalia Biscola, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Fellow, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Nicole Thompson, Research Assistant, University College London
  • Pierre Mourad, Ph.D. Professor, University of Washington, Bothell
  • Robert Greenberg, M.D., Ph.D. Chairman and CEO, Alfred Mann Foundation
  • Sylvia Daunert, Pharm.D., Ph.D. Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
  • Terry Powley, Ph.D. Distinguished Professor, Purdue University
  • Yvette Tache, Ph.D. Distinguished Research Professor, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Zachary Danziger, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Florida International University

To receive updates about the Phase 1 winners, subscribe to the Neuromod Prize newsletter.

How to enter


Set up an account so you can submit as soon as your concept paper is ready.


Learn more about the timeline, submission requirements, judging criteria, and judging process.


Join the optional virtual information session, explore the resource hub, and consider opportunities to collaborate.


Log in to your account to upload your concept paper in PDF format and fill out additional submission details by April 28.

The submission period for Phase 1 is now closed.